Final Reflection on iNACOL Standards

The following is a list of the iNACOL Standards for Quality Online Teaching and how well do I feel I have attained knowledge of those standards. This is the scale I will be using: Mastery of each individual iNACOL Standard:

0 = Not at All

1 = A Little

2 = An Average Amount

3 = More than Average

4 = Masterful

 

The 11 iNACOL Standards for Quality Online Teaching:

Standard A: The online teacher knows the primary concepts and structures of effective online instruction and is able to create learning experiences to enable student success.

Score 3

Standard B: The online teacher understands and is able to use a range of technologies, both existing and emerging, that effectively support student learning and engagement in the online environment.

Score 4

Standard C: The online teacher plans, designs, and incorporates strategies to encourage active learning, application, interaction, participation, and collaboration in the online environment.

Score 3

Standard D: The online teacher promotes student success through clear expectations, prompt responses, and regular feedback.

Score 4

Standard E: The online teacher models, guides, and encourages legal, ethical, and safe behavior related to technology use.

Score 3

Standard F: The online teacher is cognizant of the diversity of student academic needs and incorporates accommodations into the online environment.

Score 2

Standard G: The online teacher demonstrates competencies in creating and implementing assessments in online learning environments in ways that ensure validity and reliability of the instruments and procedures.

Score 3

Standard H: The online teacher develops and delivers assessments, projects, and assignments that meet standards-based learning goals and assesses learning progress by measuring student achievement of the learning goals.

Score 4

Standard I: The online teacher demonstrates competency in using data from assessments and other data sources to modify content and to guide student learning.

Score 3

Standard J: The online teacher interacts in a professional, effective manner with colleagues, parents, and other members of the community to support students’ success.

Score 4

Standard K: The online teacher arranges media and content to help students and teachers transfer knowledge most effectively in the online environment.

Score 4

Reflection:

As it turns out one of my highest scores is Standard K which says that the online teacher can arrange media and content to help students and teachers transfer knowledge most effectively. I feel that this is one of my most strong points because even since before starting the Masters Program at Brandman University, I have looked for ways to engage my students more than just notes and textbook. I have toyed with digital tools before many of my colleagues and have always found online assignments, activities, and lessons to be more fun and I always think, “Would I enjoy this lesson if I was sitting in their spot?” as a basis to develop online assignments.

One of the standards where I feel I need more practice with is Standard F: The online teacher is cognizant of the diversity of student academic needs and incorporates accommodations into the online environment. I feel like I need more help with differentiating instruction in a way that meets that needs of ALL my students. Not just the average or the ones who usually succeed on their own. I need to go further to meet the needs of my ELD students, I need to of further into how I can meet the needs of students with an IEP. I need to meet the needs of students who are too shy or introvert to ask for help and this is something that even with technology I still don’t feel very confident in. As a way to improve on this particular standard, I will be practicing differentiating using online tools more. I will put into practice some of the skills learned in these courses such as UbD lesson planning and being aware of the ADA standards.

Leave a comment